05-29-2012 02:49 PM - last edited 2 weeks ago by Kathleen_YSI
We all make mistakes more often than we’d like – calling the wrong number, neglecting to bring a jacket out on a cold night, drinking out of someone else’s cup – these things happen. When sending emails, there are a lot of mistakes you can potentially make, including sending someone the wrong files. I for one, am a compulsive back-upper… backer-upper? – whatever the term, I back up my files like crazy. If I’m working on a Photoshop or Illustrator file, it’s not unusual for me to have 6-8 variations of a single file backed up by the time I’m through with it. That wouldn’t be a problem if I always remembered which file was the final version. Seeing that I’ve sent the wrong version of files to clients more often than I’d like to admit, I’ve often wished there was a way to undo a send.
That’s one problem sending files via email – once they’re sent, you can’t unsend them. They’re there in the recipient’s inbox for them to do whatever they wish, and the situation is out of your control. What’s great about sending files via YouSendIt is you can delete them when you no longer want them to be available to others!
How to Delete or Expire Files
You have the option to delete a file you’ve sent, or have it expire at any point you no longer wish it to be available. Keep in mind that once you expire or delete a file, it will be deleted from our system, and will no longer be accessible to you or anyone else. If you’re sure you want to remove the file from your YouSendIt account, here are some instructions.
Deleting a File You’ve Sent
Expiring a File You’ve Sent*
*[Note: The option to expire files is available to premium members only]
Well, that’s it for this Tech Tip Tuesday. If you have any questions or thoughts regarding deleting or expiring files, please feel free to post them in this thread. Thanks!
To view past Tech Tip Tuesday posts, click here.
11-27-2012 08:24 PM - edited 11-27-2012 08:26 PM
The request is pretty simple. Please provide the option to delete selected or all entries displayed in the "View all sent files" option. Once the the file is expired for download the associated email should be deleted aswell automatically. It is just a nuisance to have a long list for no reason.
02-04-2013 08:02 PM
How do we remove from the list the deleted and expired files? Maybe a seperate list? I only want to see what people can currently download. Maybe there is a better way to upload files that I need people to access online?
02-21-2013 02:12 PM
Great suggestion! It would be nice to be able to choose selected sent files that are no longer relevant to you and delete them at once. I am moving your post to our suggestions page.
Let me know if you think up any other great suggestions!